Minister of ICT Inaugurates New Members of NITA-U Board

The Minister of Information and Communications Technology, Hon. Eng. John Nasasira has inaugurated new members of the Board of Directors of the National Information Technology Authority – Uganda (NITA-U) in accordance with Section 7 of the NITA-U Act. This followed the expiry of tenure of membership of Dr. Patrick Mangheni, Ms Excellence Favor and Dr. David Turahi who had served their statutory two 3-year terms. The new members are Mr. Kyewalabye James C. Kabajo, Ms Amina Zawedde and Mr. Kenneth Bagarukayo. All are eminent Ugandans with expertise in information technology, and extensive experience in the public sector, private sector and academia.

The Minister thanked the outgoing members of the Board on behalf of Government for their contribution to the growth of the ICT sector. He urged the new members to uphold the values of NITA-U of integrity, innovation, teamwork, customer centricity and quality. He implored them to focus on the following core programs and projects through close supervision and guidance to ensure effective implementation:

  1. The National Backbone and eGovernment Infrastructure Project, particularly the Third Phase which, among other things, will connect the National Backbone to those of Tanzania and Rwanda (through Mutukula and Katuna respectively);
  2. The Regional Communications Infrastructure Programme (RCIP) supported by the World Bank which, among others, will provide connectivity to Karamoja and West Nile Regions; and
  3. Promoting e-Government in Ministries, Departments and Local Governments to improve efficiency and effectiveness in delivery of services by Government to the population.

Hon. Nasasira concluded by cautioning the NITA-U Board to ensure maximum utilization of financial and human resources, and to put emphasis on service delivery rather than consumptive items such as excessive travel abroad.